Skip to main content
Solved

Survivorship Logic in Ataccama

I’m new to Ataccama ONE MDM and have recently completed the training. I’m currently doing a POC on it and am stuck at two places.

So here’s the situation:

First, I’m able to load the data but I’m not sure how to update it. Like, lets say I have a person record and after loading it generated Person_ID X23233X. Now, I made changes to some of the data in the same request. For eg, I’ve updated the contact number or the address of the record. Now, when I’ll be loading this same data again I want the ID to remain the same and just update the contact/address data along with Last_Updated _Timestamp.

Secondly, lets say I have a record with 2 different phone types, ‘Home Phone’ and ‘Work Phone’, and I’ve loaded it. So, the Person_ID  X12322X will have two contact details associated with it. Now, lets say I removed the ‘Home Phone’ details from the record and send it for update load. So, after updating the same request, ‘Home Phone’ details should be dissociated from the Person_ID X12322X (the contact details can still be present in the Contact table) and the Person_ID should only be associated with ‘Work Phone’ i.e only ‘Work Phone’ details should survive.

HOW TO DO THIS? Can help or suggestions will be highly appreciated.

4 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +2

Hi @RandomStranger37,

When it comes to survivorship in MDM, it revolves around the Source_ID column. So, it's basically an UPSERT. Once MDM detects that the Source_ID does not exist in the table, it will create a record with that Source_ID, if it detects that the Source_ID is there, then it will do an update on that record.

So for example, lets say you have 2 entries coming into MDM

Source_id name phone_val
1 John 555
2 Steve 333

You can see that each person has a source_id, name, and phone value. Lets say now we send in an updated sheet

Source_id name phone_val
1 John